JUST IN: 2023 AA Hospitality Awards Announced, Forest Side Crowned England’s Best Hotel

Celebrating the UK’s top hotels, spas, restaurants, and pubs and the people behind them, the AA Hospitality Awards have revealed their 2023 winners at a glittering ceremony. The Forest Side hotel in the Lake District was announced as England’s best hotel, with The Lanesborough taking home London’s coveted title

Hot off the press – or should that be the pass. The UK hospitality industry gathered at JW Marriott Grosvenor House for the highly anticipated AA Hospitality Awards 2023 hosted by AA Hotel & Hospitality Services, with a lineup of impressive winners from around the UK.

The glittering awards ceremony, presented by TV presenter and broadcaster Claudia Winkleman, celebrated the UK’s top hotels, spas, restaurants, and pubs and the people behind them.

The awards hosted around 1,000 guests to honour the outstanding contributions to the UK’s hospitality sector, spanning an impressive array of fifteen categories. The night’s highlights included the crowning of AA Restaurant of the Year, AA Hotel of the Year, AA Accessible Award, AA Spa Hotel of the Year, AA Wine Award, AA Chefs’ Chef, AA Lifetime Achievement Award, AA Sustainable Award and AA Housekeeper of the Year. 

Simon Numphud, Managing Director at AA Media commented: “It’s a delight to be back at Grosvenor House as we mark the greatest hospitality celebration across England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The last year has been tough on the hospitality industry as we’ve felt, like many others, the challenges facing businesses.

Yet I’m so proud of the resilience, innovation and quality shown by the UK hospitality industry in response. We would like to extend a massive congratulations all the winners and shortlisted establishments for their hard work, passion, and dedication.” 

The AA introduced the renowned star rating scheme for quality in 1908 and have continued to shine a well-deserved spotlight on individuals and establishments who consistently deliver excellence to their guests.

The AA Hospitality Awards, now celebrated as the pinnacle of recognition in the industry, have once again showcased the innovation, dedication, and brilliance that define the UK’s hospitality landscape.

As the stars of hospitality continue to rise, these awards have cemented their place as the ultimate authority in recognising excellence, setting the gold standard for hotels and restaurants across the nation. This year, the AA is celebrating 115 years of recognising excellence in hospitality.

The AA Hospitality Awards – 2023 winners are as follows:

Chefs’ Chef 
Paul Ainsworth of Paul Ainsworth at No.6

Accessible Award 
 Pan Pacific London, London

Sustainable Award 
THE PIG Hotel Group

Lifetime Achievement Award 
Jonathan Raggett, Red Carnation Hotels

Outstanding Contribution Award 
Angela Hartnett

Housekeeper of the Year 
Nicola Burton from Hartwell House & Spa, Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire

Restaurant of the Year 
England – The Old Stamp House Restaurant, Ambleside

London – Chutney Mary, London

Wales – The Jackdaw, Conwy

Scotland – Cail Bruich, Glasgow

Hotel of the Year 
England – Forest Side, Grasmere

London – The Lanesborough, London 

Wales – Penally Abbey Hotel, Penally

Scotland – Fingal, Leith, Edinburgh

Northern Ireland – Killeavy Castle Estate, Killeavy

Restaurant with Rooms 
England – The New Inn, Hereford

Wales – Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms, Eglwys Fach

Scotland – Cail Bruich, Edinburgh

Spa Hotel of the Year 
South Lodge, West Sussex

Group of the Year 
The Coaching Inn Group

Small Hotel Group of the Year 
Crerar Hotels

Food Service Award 
The Strathearn, The Gleneagles Hotel, Auchterarder

Arkle, The Chester Grosvenor

Woven by Adam Smith, Coworth Park 

Wine Award 
England – Allium at Askham Hall, Cumbria

Wales – Palé Hall Hotel & Restaurant, Gwynedd

Scotland – The Little Chartroom, Edinburgh

College Restaurant of the Year  
@thirty-four Restaurant, Exeter College

Senara Restaurant, Truro & Penwith
The Classroom, Cardiff and Vale College

New 5 Rosettes
Muse, London

Steve Smith at Latymer, Surrey

New 4 Rosettes  
The Cellar, Fife

Where The Light Gets In, Manchester

Shaun Rankin at Grantley Hall, North Yorkshire

MO, Dormy House, Worcestershire

The Samling, Cumbria

Ben Wilkinson at The Pass, West Sussex

New 3 Rosettes 
Next Door, Cheshire

1863 Restaurant with Rooms, Cumbria  

The Wildebeest, Norfolk

The George at Alstonefield, Staffordshire.

Forge, North Yorkshire

The Lantern Room, West Yorkshire

1921 Angel Hill, Suffolk

Restaurant Roots, Dorset

The Cottage in the Wood, Worcestershire

The Idle Rocks Restaurant, Cornwall

The New Inn, Herefordshire

The Lanesborough Grill, London

The Cygnet at The Swan Inn, Oxfordshire  

Crockers Tring, Hertfordshire

8 By Andrew Sheridan, Liverpool

The Newport Restaurant, Fife

Legacy, North Yorkshire

London Stock Restaurant, London

The Clock House, Surrey

The Bulls Head Inn, Derbyshire

Behind, London

The Star Inn at Harome, North Yorkshire

Cedar Tree Restaurant by Hrishikesh Desai, Cumbria

The Terrace Restaurant at The Montagu Arms Hotel, Hampshire 

Culture Restaurant, Cornwall

The Killingworth Castle, Wootton, Oxfordshire

The Wild Rabbit, Kingham, Oxfordshire

The Ethicurean, Bristol

New 5 Red Stars 
Crossbasket Castle, South Lanarkshire

New 4 Red Stars 
The Fish Hotel, Worcestershire
Thornbury Castle Hotel, Gloucestershire 

See the full list of this year’s AA Hospitality Awards winners via ratedtrips.com

All 2023 award winners, finalists and establishments awarded AA Rosettes feature in the 30th edition of the AA Restaurant Guide 2024. Offering the definitive guide to the UK’s top 1,400 dining destinations, this is the food lover’s key to enjoying the best cuisine the country has to offer. Get your own copy via Amazon (£17.99).

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkedin
Share on Pinterest

Find Something special