AA Hospitality Awards 2022 Winners Revealed

With Socius in Norfolk scooping England’s best restaurant of the year, Mark Birchall of Moor Hall crowned Chefs’ Chef and John Williams MBE honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award, the UK’s latest best hotels, restaurants, and their teams have been revealed at the 2022 AA Hospitality Awards 

Returning with a glittering in-person ceremony hosted by TV presenter Gabby Logan at Grosvenor House in London, the awards honoured the best hospitality establishments in the UK across twenty-six categories, including AA Restaurant of the Year, AA Hotel of the Year, the newly launched AA Accessible Award, AA Spa Hotel of the Year, AA Wine Award, AA Chefs’ Chef, AA Lifetime Achievement Award and AA Housekeeper of the Year.

Simon Numphud, Managing Director at AA Media told The Wordrobe: “It was great to be back at Grosvenor House after three years and to celebrate the greatest hospitality establishments across England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

The past few years have been incredibly tough for the hospitality sector, from lockdowns to travel restrictions, supply chain issues to the rising cost of living, but these awards have highlighted how our industry, time and time again, has worked tirelessly to overcome adversity and create unforgettable experiences for the public. We would like to congratulate all the winners and shortlisted establishments for their hard work, passion and dedication to providing hospitality to the highest standards.”

The AA Restaurant of the Year in particular recognises restaurants that provide cuisine of a truly excellent standard, as well as demonstrating innovation and ambience and providing a high standard of hospitality. This year’s winner for England was Socius of Burnham Market, Norfolk.

Natalie Stuhler and Dan Lawrence, Owners of Socius, commented “We’re so proud of our incredible team who work tirelessly to ensure we are constantly growing and delivering a memorable experience to all our guests. This really does mean the world to us, and we couldn’t be more grateful to everyone who has helped us in our journey to get here.

A huge thank you to not only our amazing team, but also our customers for getting us to this stage with their continued support. At a very trying time for our industry, our team have shone through it all and this award really is the cherry on top.”

Mark Birchall of Moor Hall in Sutton Coldfield was crowned Chefs’ Chef. This unique award, introduced in 1996 is a popular and coveted title. It offers all AA Rosette-awarded chefs the chance to decide which of their peers deserves the ultimate recognition of their performance over the past twelve months.

Born in Chorley, Lancashire, Mark Birchall trained at Runshaw College and was previously Executive Chef of L’Enclume. Mark also won the Roux Scholarship in 2011, and he then staged at El Celler de Can Roca, Girona. Mark is now Chef Patron at Moor Hall, which under his patronage has been awarded five AA Rosettes.

Birchall commented: “Thank you so much. It means a lot. It’s lovely to be among so many people. I’m very lucky I’ve got a great team around me.”

The winners of the AA Hospitality Awards 2022 are as follows:

Chefs’ Chef
Mark Birchall, Chef Patron of Moor Hall, Aughton, Lancashire

Restaurant of the Year
England – Socius, Burnham Market, Norfolk
London – Chez Bruce, London SW17
Wales – Gem 42, Newport
Scotland – The Cellar, Anstruther, Fife

Hotel of the Year
England – Grantley Hall, Ripon, North Yorkshire
London – Pan Pacific London, London EC3
Wales – Llanerch Vineyard, Hensol, South Wales
Scotland – The Balmoral, Edinburgh
Northern Ireland – The Rabbit Hotel & Retreat, Templepatrick, County Antrim

Restaurant with Rooms
England – The Angel at Hetton, North Yorkshire
Wales – Crug Glâs Country House, Solva, Pembrokeshire
Scotland – The Bonnie Badger, Gullane, East Lothian

Spa Hotel of the Year
Lime Wood, Lyndhurst, Hampshire

Hotel Group of the Year
The Pig Group

Small Hotel Group of the Year
Iconic Luxury Hotels

Accessible Award
Rudding Park, Harrogate, North Yorkshire

Sustainable Award
Swinton Estate, Masham, North Yorkshire

Food Service Award
Hélène Darroze at The Connaught, London W1

Alain Ducasse at the Dorchester, London W1
Lympstone Manor Hotel, Exmouth, Devon

Wine Award
England –The Vineyard, Newbury, Berkshire
Wales – The Grove, Narberth, Pembrokeshire
Scotland – UNALOME by Graeme Cheevers, Glasgow

College Restaurant of the Year
Senara Restaurant, Truro & Penwith College

The Brasserie, Milton Keynes College 
The Classroom, Cardiff & Vale College

Lifetime Achievement Award
John Williams MBE

Outstanding Contribution Award
Northcote: Obsession, Langho, Lancashire

Housekeeper of the Year
Diane Payne from Rockliffe Hall in Darlington, County Durham

New 4 Rosettes
Bohemia Restaurant, St Helier, Jersey
The Dining Room at Whatley Manor, Malmesbury, Wiltshire
Edinbane Lodge, Edinbane, Highland
The Fernery at The Grove, Narberth, Pembrokeshire
The Glenturret Lalique Restaurant, Crieff, Perth & Kinross
Grace & Savour, Solihull, West Midlands
The Ledbury, London W11
Ormer Mayfair, London W1
Social Eating House, London W1

The full list of this year’s AA Hospitality Awards winners can be found via business.ratedtrips.com/awards/aa-awards-2022

Like this article?

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on Pinterest

Find Something special